Eight of the 14 recipients of this year
Salin Foundation Announces 2018 Scholarship Recipients

May 22, 2018

INDIANAPOLIS - The Salin Foundation Community Scholarship Program has awarded $28,000 to 14 Indiana students who will begin a new semester at an Indiana university or college this fall. 

The program, now in its 18th year, is designed to assist the higher education needs of high school seniors from more than 22 eligible schools in communities served by Salin Bank.

Each of the 14 awards will provide $2,000 of tuition assistance to students who plan to enroll in a full-time course of undergraduate study at an accredited two- or four-year college, university, or vocational school located in Indiana.

Scholarships are awarded based on academic achievement (a minimum GPA of 3.0 out of 4.0 is required), demonstrated leadership in school and community activities, and the education goals of the applicant. Each application is reviewed by individuals outside of the Salin Foundation. Officers and employees of Salin Bank are not eligible. Awards are made without regard to gender, age, race, religion, nationality, or disability.

The scholarship program is administered by Scholarship Management Services, a department of Citizens’ Scholarship Foundation of America (CSFA). CSFA seeks to involve and assist the private sector in expanding educational opportunities and encouraging educational achievement. CSFA processes and screens applications and designates recipients. Scholarship applications are available at participating schools and all Salin Bank locations.

The 2018 Salin Foundation Community Scholarship Program Recipients:

  • Brendan Boewe, Columbus
  • Jessica Burkhart, Delphi
  • Ashley Cone, Kokomo
  • Elizabeth Frazier, Columbus
  • Emily Hudson, Delphi
  • Kaitlyn Landis, Lafayette
  • Dayle Matheny, Greentown
  • Gracen Perdue, Lafayette
  • Lam Phan, Columbus
  • Kristina Powlen, Burrows
  • Margaret Scarberry, Kokomo
  • Dacota Shockley, Delphi
  • Nicholas Stevens, Columbus
  • Kyle Wade, Kokomo
Photo: Nine of the recipients of this year's Salin Foundation Community Scholarship (clockwise from upper left): Kristina Powlen, Nicholas Stevens, Gracen Perdue, Ashley Cone, Dacota Shockley, Dayle Matheny, Elizabeth Frazier, Emily Hudson, Brendan Boewe.